No manners at all…

I just had my first experience in Japan that really pissed me off. I decided to go out to a sushi restaurant for lunch today that I went to yesterday with some of my friends. I thought it would be nice, quiet, and empty like before but I didn’t take into consideration how busy it would be around lunch time. That wouldn’t be so bad except I had to sit on one of the stools at the counter instead of one of the tables. The waitress decided to sit me right in the front by the door in plain view of everyone, as if I didn’t stand out bad enough already…

I tried to pay it no mind and told myself it was no big deal. I ended up ordering a set I didn’t want, because I had a hard time understanding the waitress. That got me a little irritated. Mainly at myself and my inadequate Japanese. So anyway, I got my meal and began to eat when I noticed an old man staring at me from the corner of my eye. I mean literally she just sat there watching me, and made me feel really uncomfortable. I thought maybe if I looked up and made eye contact she would stop, but no. Apparently a little privacy was too much to ask. I trudged on and continued eating my food anyway.

After a few minutes a group of about 4 old people came into the restaurant and were seated at the counter next to me. The person sitting directly beside me was another old woman, who also took it upon herself to constantly glance over at me while I was eating. By this point I was not enjoying my meal at all, and really started to regret that I came. I asked the waitress for the check and got up to pay. As soon as I did the old woman began looking at me and whispering like crazy to the old man beside her. She kept looking back and forth between me and whispering. I wanted to say something, but I didn’t know what to say…

As I waited in line for the cashier to pay I noticed that she kept leaning over to where I was sitting and was pointing while commenting to the man. I left my area nice and clean, so I have no idea why she was doing this. The only thing I could think of was my chair was not pushed in all the way, so I actually got out of line, walked back over to the counter, and pushed the chair all the way in while shooting her a glance that I’m sure said something along the lines of, “What the hell is your problem??”

After I got back in line I looked back over, and she actually had the nerve to start examining the bowls I was eating from, started talking to the man some more, and they both began laughing. The old man covered his mouth trying to stifle it. Then they had the nerve to talk to the chef while continuing to laugh and point where I was sitting. It was extremely rude, and extremely inconsiderate. I barely ate anything, because the whole situation made me feel miserable. Thanks a lot for ruining my day.

Leave a Reply

