Where did the day go?

I swear it just zoomed by.  This morning I had my first real taste of what the rainy season in Japan is like.  The storm clouds came rolling in, the breeze nearly toppled the trees over, and the rain came down in a vicious torrential downpour—okay maybe it wasn’t quite that bad, but it was still pretty impressive!

I thought for sure it would last all day considering how strong it was, but the sky began to clear within a few hours.  I glanced outside the window as I waited for the Japanese teacher to finish passing out papers, and couldn’t believe what I saw.  The dark stormy clouds had broken apart, and soft rays of sunlight had begun peeping through.  It was at that moment that I noticed the mountains off at a distance, and a brief wave of euphoria swept over me.

I realized that since coming to Japan I really haven’t taken the time to just sit back and enjoy the beautiful scenery.  Sure I noticed that I lived in a small town, but I didn’t pay any attention to the wonderful nature surrounding it.  For a moment I almost felt like I was back in West Virginia while riding down a windy road through the bright blue mounds.

I can’t wait for summer.  It’s going to be great!

Leave a Reply

