More Optimistic

Despite being broke, having no internet, and spending most of my time in the apartment I’ve been feeling pretty accomplished lately. Since I’ve had a lot of free time on my hands I’ve been doing a massive overhaul on the apartment by cleaning and rearranging things. There’s still a lot of work to do, but it’s already looking much better. It’s almost to the point where I won’t feel embarrassed to invite my friends over.

Additionally I’ve also been studying a lot of Japanese and applying to Japan related jobs. I sent in my cover letter and resume to the Embassy of Japan that I hope I hear back from. I also applied for a few teaching positions that I found online. It’s hard to find a job outside of the US though, because many Japanese recruiters expect you to already have a work visa, and you can’t get one without sponsorship as far as I know.

I also feel accomplished, because I’ve gotten a few mistakes in my transcript fixed. When I went to LVC their system would update and replace the grades for courses that you repeated automatically. I thought that Morgan did the same, but when I took a closer look I noticed that my old course grades were still being factored into my GPA. I went to the registrar today and filled out a form, so within a week it should be fixed and I’ll have over a 3.0 again. I know it’s not amazing, but having a GPA below that prevents you from getting financial aid in grad school.

Speaking of grad school, I’m hoping that I can study abroad again in Japan through the Fulbright program. I’ve been reading up on a lot of the requirements and stuff lately, and plan to speak with the advisor on campus sometime next week. If I get accepted that would be amazing!! The competition seems pretty tough though so I’ll have my work cut out for me. It says that the decision isn’t based purely on you GPA, but more so on your project proposal and statement of purpose. Basically I need to come up with a really good project and a kick ass essay!

I’m going to talk to the chair person of foreign languages too so I can get more information about the M.A. for International Studies. The language and culture concentration sounds perfect for me.

Leave a Reply

