My Summer

I finally lost my first 10 pounds since dieting! I’m so excited and happy. I could have lost the weight a bit quicker and almost considered giving up a few times. However, I stuck with it despite a few mishaps and here I am 10 lbs lighter! It might not seem much to other people, but I lost in 1 month what I gained in 2 years.

Aside from that life has been pretty crappy. Still trying to find a job so I can save up some money for Japan. I might have a job at Bank of America, but I won’t know for certain until tomorrow or sometime later during the week. I don’t particularly want to work there, but anything is better than being jobless or going back to Wal-Mart. I need to talk to the registrar’s office to see if I can continue to take Japanese at Johns Hopkins despite already graduating. I really hope there’s some way I still can.

I don’t know for sure if I want to go to grad school or not. I mean, will it really better my chances of getting a job in Japan? The only problem I seem to have right now is finding a company willing to sponsor someone living outside the country for a work visa. Just about every ad I see requires that you already live there and have a visa ready. What I don’t get is how they expect you to get a work visa without wanting to sponsor you? It’s like you have to get a job somewhere that will, get the visa, and then quit so you can apply to their company.

I guess the only reason that I would consider going to grad school is so I could get a student visa. At least then I could work a certain number of hours a week. Hopefully that would give me the chance to find an employer willing to sponsor me to extend it. That’s a bit of a long shot though.

I’m pretty happy with my Japanese review so far. I’ve been a bit down and distracted, but I know the material way better than when I was in class. The problem was that the JSL book covers a lot of different material from げんき and なかま because it is much older. It’s not a bad book though. At first I really hated it, but it’s starting to grow on me. I really like the listening sections, because they move at a natural and smooth pace compared to some of the other series I’ve used. Now they just seem too slow.

I still have a shit ton of reviewing to do though and have completed by the fall. I didn’t really retain and learn the material that well during the second half of Intermediate Japanese. I’m kind of ashamed. I really should be able to speak it better and have a fuller grasp than what I do. Problem is that I wasted too much time doing other things such as playing WoW. That game is such a waste. I can’t believe how much time I’ve devoted to it.

Playing MMOs will get you no where in life. Sure they’re fun, but as soon as you stop playing you feel empty and disappointed. You have nothing to show to your family and friends for all that time you’ve wasted. You can’t turn on your computer and say, “Hey look at my character!” and expect them to be impressed. It just doesn’t work that way. I suppose it’s good that I don’t have any internet so I can’t play even if I wanted to.

Leave a Reply

