Bored and Killing Time

Only two weeks left before classes start up again. Winter break went by pretty fast, but after countless hours of playing World of Warcraft, and working I have to admit that I’m ready to go back. For some reason it’s always exciting to start out with a new semester. Only two more to go until I finally graduate! I can’t wait. Then I can get a real job, and pay off all of this crazy debt I’m in from student loans and such.

This summer I’ll be adding to my expenses though, because I’m planning a trip to Japan. I’ve wanted to go for a few years now, and the JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) coming up in December 2008 gives me a good excuse to. I’m looking around at some of the different language schools there, so I can find one that’ll help me prepare for the exam. Phillip (my boyfriend) came up with the idea that we should aim for the Level 3 test, which requires around 1,000 kanji so I really need to start to do a lot of cramming, because right now I know around…3!

I’ve been toying with the idea of participating in a clinical study to help fund my trip to Japan. There is a medical place nearby that wants to test an anti-depressant on women who are currently taking Tri-Cyclen. I’m a little worried about the possible side effects, but $1,000 is hard to turn down. Anyone had experiences with clinical studies before? I’m sure everything would be ok, but I’m still thinking it over for a bit instead of jumping right in.

3 thoughts on “Bored and Killing Time

  1. I don’t know about the clinical study… I’ve always thought of it as selling out your body. (Only, the difference is that it’ll probably be for a good cause.) I guess it’s better than other options if you’re tight on cash. What’re the side effects anyway? Hairy feet?

    By the way, I know how you feel about starting that new semester. I’d be looking forward to it too, and people keep pushing me to start after my Master’s. Truth be told, I really don’t see what more I could possibly learn – seems like going after my MFA in writing would just involve more practice… in writing… which I could do on my own without needing to dish out another several grand.

    What do you think?

  2. I have to agree with you about getting a Masters degree. The only real benefit to it is getting that piece of paper that says you did it, and impressing people. For writing I don’t think it’ll help you get any better, but just adds to your credentials.

    It’s probably too late for me to sign up for the clinical study since I took so long being hesitant. I’m just worried that I won’t be able to come up with enough for the trip, and regret it later.

    Btw, what are you doing for the summer Wei? Are you working?

  3. I don’t know, summer’s kind of open. My boss is counting on me to teach for the summer program, but other than that, not much is going on (unless the magazine hits big for some reason.) I do wish I were going to Japan too =( Even though the extent of my Japanese consists of crude anime slang.

    Do you know where in Japan you’re going to visit? Because I know of a few places you need to go!

Leave a Reply

