Where does Atheism fit in my life?

I’ve been struggling for the past few months to motivate myself to blog more about atheism, but I realized that the reason it’s been so hard is because it’s just a small part of who I am. When I was a Christian, it was like being consumed by it. Every aspect of my life was under heat and pressure. I had to make sure that everything I did adhered to it, and didn’t conflict with any of my beliefs. With that burden lifted I’ve been able to enjoy things and people for who they are, rather than how my religion told me they should be. I have learned how to appreciate life, and to take things one day at a time, and never for granted.

Being atheist is not easy at all. It has forced me to think about what it really means to be human, what my purpose is in life, and how I can make the most of it. At times it has been a bit scary. Being faced with my own mortality, and realizing that time is ticking makes every moment seem much more precious. I appreciate my family more now–whether we’re just sitting in the living room talking, or at the dinner table eating–I’m thankful for every second of it. I realize just how fortunate I am to be alive, and to be raised with such loving and caring people. My family has always meant the world to me (especially my mom) both as a christian, and an atheist. I remember often being afraid when I was younger that what if my mom went to heaven and I didn’t? If I did something wrong would God really punish me, and keep us separated for all eternity? Religion struck fear into my heart, and offered very weak comfort.

The main thing that made me nervous about accepting atheism was also confronting that one day I will no longer exist. The idea was pretty terrifying, and occasionally still is. The way that I stand strong and fight it is by reminding myself that one day all the people I love will also be gone, and then life will not be worth it. Each person must find their own meaning to life when they convert (or de-convert) to atheism, and for me, my meaning comes from my family. My life feels fulfilled when they’re happy, and by doing anything that I can for them. Not everyone has a close relationship with their family, so this would not be sufficient, but for once there really is no limit. As an atheist you can decide for yourself what your purpose is, and what will make you happy. Just don’t make it something silly like stealing cars, and get yourself arrested😉

Like I said, being an atheist is part of who I am, but not everything. I’m also a daughter, a sister, a friend, and hopefully one day a mother. If you find that your life is always centered and focused on your religion, perhaps you should consider reevaluating what really means the most to you.

10 thoughts on “Where does Atheism fit in my life?

  1. You mentioned, always cherishing, moments with your family. Life ticking away as you and I type. But, that is how it is. I am a Christian, but feel the same way about life, well, the concept you describe. I am only 14, but I love almost every minute of my life. I feel empty, thinking of past events, remembering how it has been, and wont ever happen again. But, I live past it. The only advice to be given for anything like this, is just live life to its full potential. You will not know when it ends, but to make the most of it as you are part of the cycle. Life is quick.

  2. I agree completely falseblue, life does go by really fast. I guess the only difference as an atheist is that I don’t have heaven to look forward to at the end. Either way, I admire that you’re only 14 and put so much thought into it. Some people don’t realize just how precious life is until they’re already old, and don’t have much time left to do anything about it. Thank you for commenting🙂

  3. Your life like a Christian in your past seemed not be so enjoyable. Maybe you hadn’t understood God’s grace and mercy?

    For some years ago I didn’t enjoy my Christian life. I had to follow all the laws (you know the 10 commandments), I couldn’t enjoy life. But I understood that I hadn’t really understood God’s love and grace. You know God don’t punish us – but I thought so in one way. Now I know – He loves us so much… he can set us free from every bondage… I do really mean it. If our hearts are soft and if we are willing to follow Christ everything is all right. We are accepted, with all our failures and sins…

    I think there are many Christians that havent’t really understood this. That’s why they are so unlucky. I know…

    I think the REAL Christian life is amazing once you accept the love of God…. and God calls you today, back to him, believe it or not🙂

  4. Why do you need an excuse to be an Atheist?
    I’ve been an Atheist now for 20 or so years and I’m loving life while being kind to those around me.

    So to the writer of the article … congratulations on throwing off superstition and embracing reason. The wonderment of the Universe is now around you, uncovered from the veil that is religious belief.

  5. I am curious why you think stealing cars is a silly thing for someone who wants to make themself happy? On what basis do you call that silly?

    I’m not seriously for stealing cars or breaking laws, but without any backing that comes from a belief system we all would descend into the very nightmarish world Neitzsche depicted where those with the “will to power” will dominate. I think that you may be borrowing assumptions subconsciously from a faith you left behind when there is really no good reason to do so.

    You could say “making yourself happy at others’ expence is always wrong,” but why is that wrong? Did you make it wrong for all people or only you? If it is wrong for only you, that why do we get so upset when someone intentionally hurts us?

    I dont mean to be a jerk in posting this, i am just genuinely curious how you might respond to these problems in light of your beliefs.

  6. Hey Mike, I know you’re probably thinking that I’m ignoring your question, but truth is I had planned a really lengthy response to it. The problem though was that I went out of town for a few days for a family reunion, and am now in the process of trying to move into a dorm so I’ve been a bit too busy to type out a well-written response. I apologize, but will get back to you🙂

  7. Hey, Lashawn. I found you on de-Conversion. You make a great point that Christianity is all-consuming (I guess, in some way, the argument would be that that is precisely the point), but having chosen to walk away, I find that I have so much more time to focus on other things. For me it’s not that things matter to me that didn’t before, it’s just that I’ve been forced value them for different reasons. Great post. I look forward to reading more.

  8. In general I enjoyed your post. I found it from a general search during some free time. The one problem I have is that you speak about “accepting” atheism, and people in turn are responding about the decision to “convert”, or de-convert as it were. Atheism isn’t a religion. In truth, there shouldn’t be a decision process of acceptance involved. There is the realization of truth, or the denial of it. When you talk about your nervousness to accept this truth, did you’re knowledge of the natural world point you to the obvious fact that there was no guiding supernatural being, or did you decide “I am now going to adhere to this system of beliefs instead of my current christian system?”

    I know you have pushed past that point from your written point of view, but it bothered me. I’m sorry. From your stance of, there is humanity and the physical world and no god, what purpose can we find to live? it’s a good question, I answer personally by saying I live to pursue knowledge of the unknown. I find a purpose in living (an enjoyable existance) by exposing mysteries of this planet and the black universe beyond, and by creating children and endowing them the purpose and values I have found. cheers.

Leave a Reply

